Select Page

Home  > Learn > Online Learning > Self-Reg Foundations Program

SELF-REG FOUNDATIONS

Level 1 Certificate Program 

$1,695 CAD Full Program or $500 CAD/Course

★★★★★ Based on 134 Reviews

The Self-Reg Foundations Certificate, our flagship Self-Reg program, has been a game-changer for thousands of learners, bringing them to an entirely new understanding of what makes people tick. In this four-course, online program, Stuart Shanker and Susan Hopkins take you deep into the science of self-regulation and stress including:

    • how the brain/body stress system works
    • how stress affects children’s behaviour and moods
    • the difference between misbehaviour and stress behaviour
    • the importance of relationships in self-regulation and learning

Over 1500 teachers, mental health professionals, health professionals and parents have taken this course. Many say it has changed their outlook on children, their work and their own well-being. Join us for the next cohort starting:

About the Program

Learn the science behind Self-Reg with Stuart Shanker & Susan Hopkins

The Self-Reg Foundations Certificate is a four-course, online program designed and delivered by Stuart Shanker and Susan Hopkins on our eSchool. Upon completion, you will receive a certificate identifying you have completed the Self-Reg Foundations Certificate Program. We refer to the alumni of all of our Self-Reg education programs as Self-Reg Champions, in recognition of the time they have spent learning with us.

But, is it for me? If you’re interested in learning the basic underpinnings of Shanker Self-Reg®, then yes – this course is for you.

    • Four separate courses
    • Each of the courses takes six weeks to complete
    • A new module opens each week and learners have one week to complete it
    • Approximately 4 – 6 hours per week
    • Short videos from Dr. Shanker and Susan Hopkins with “bite-sized” chunks of information
    • Questions designed to support understanding, reflection and application of Self-Reg learning
    • Interactive responding to comments of other learners online
    • No tests, quizzes or exams in this program, rather this offering is for educational purposes where we interact and learn alongside fellow learners
    • Course facilitation from various TMC Self-Reg Specialists

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

Course Calendar

We run new cohorts of our Self-Reg Foundations Certificate Program throughout the year. Pick the start date that is best for you and your team:

May 9, 2024 | August 29, 2024 | October 31, 2024

Check out all of our program start, specific module and end dates in our 2023-24 Course Calendar here.

FOUNDATIONS 1: The Bio Domain: The Brain, Stress and Self-Regulation

Module 1: The Dawning of Relationships
Module 2: The Nature of Stress
Module 3: The Problem of Excessive Stress
Module 4: The Cascading Effects of Excessive Stress
Module 5: The Brain’s Reward System
Module 6: Self-Reg Method Step 1: Reframing the Behaviour

FOUNDATIONS 2: Self-Reg and Emotional, Social, Cognitive and Pro-Social Well-Being

Module 1: Self-Reg in Dynamic Systems and the Bio Domain Foundations
Module 2: Self-Reg in the Emotional Domain
Module 3: Self-Reg in the Cognitive Domain
Module 4: Self-Reg in the Social Domain
Module 5: Self-Reg in the Pro-Social Domain
Module 6: 5 Steps of Shanker Self-Reg Method

FOUNDATIONS 3: Self-Reg and Mental Health Across the Lifespan

Module 1: Autism
Module 2: “The Anxiety Epidemic”
Module 3: Self-Reg and Adolescence
Module 4: Self-Reg Across the Lifespan
Module 5: Self-Reg and Mindfulness
Module 6: Self-Regulation vs. Self-Control

FOUNDATIONS 4: The Shanker Self-Reg Method in Context

4 Course Stream Options (Offered upon completion of Foundations 1 – 3):

A. Educator’s Stream: Self-Reg as a Universal Platform in Education (early years, K-12, or adult education)
B. Self-Reg Specialists Stream (health practitioners, specialists, counsellors, clinicians): Applying Shanker Self-Reg
C. Early Years / Parent-Stream: Parenting with a Self-Reg Mindset
D. Personal Self-Reg Stream (applies to anyone): My Self-Reg

 

Foundations Program Reviews

5.0
5.0 out of 5 stars (based on 141 reviews)
Excellent99%
Very good1%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Important professional development

February 21, 2023

This course allowed for a comprehensive deep dive into the topic of Self-regulation. It increased my understanding of self-regulation to better meet the needs of my clients, my children, and myself. Such a great resource for anyone working with children.

Katie

Personally and Professionally Life-Changing

December 12, 2022

Stuart Shanker Self-Reg has been the eye-opening and enriching experience that I’ve been searching for professionally and personally. My ability to support my students has significantly improved through the use of the 5-Steps of Self-Reg and my understanding and application of the 5 Domains. This is a certificate program that truly “practices what they preach” in that they are intentional with their course offerings and respond effectively to the needs of their students. You will not regret taking this program! Thank you, Stuart & Susan!

Soley

Life Changing

December 12, 2022

My title may sound exaggerated but it is definitely not. I started my Self-Reg journey to better understand my students and I have ended up not just better understanding my students but understanding myself, children, spouse, colleagues and society better. I look at the world differently. Self-Reg has changed my life.

Christine

Life changing

December 11, 2022

My Self-Reg journey was started to build my knowledge and awareness of Self Reg for my work and CPD. I read at the start how many experienced this as a personal journey and was skeptical. Who would have thought the Foundation Course this year would provide me with a supportive process to then wade through a stressful, pandemic, work, family year. It is a life long reflective journey that has allowed me to view myself, my family, my clients, their families and my teaching and Therapy colleagues, with the softer eyes that were needed. Thank you Stuart, Susan and the incredible Course Facilitators. I highly recommend this course as it will give you more than you can imagine it would.

Danni

Self-Reg is Life Changing

October 17, 2022

My Self-Reg journey has changed my life personally and professionally. It has helped me to reframe me own behaviours and responses along with those of others, it has helped me to become more reflective and I am more aware of stressors and the impacts they may have on individuals. The foundation courses have helped me gain more understanding of the theory, the research and the science behind self-reg. It has helped me to build my self-reg tool box and inspired me to help others.

Nicole

Still not sure?

See what our learners have to say here or email us at info@self-reg.ca if you have any questions

Group Pricing: 10% off is always available for groups of 6 or more learners, simply use the discount code GROUPDISCOUNT at checkout or email info@self-reg.ca for invoicing.

Equity Pricing: We know that pricing can be a barrier, that’s why we offer a number of equity priced spots for those paying out of pocket with each cohort we offer. Learn more and join the waitlist here.

GST/HST Tax Exempt? Feel free to reach out to us at info@self-reg.ca with your exemption number and we can invoice you

Self-Reg Seeds Learning Journey Symbol of a seed sprouting 2 leafs

What is Self-Reg?

Self-Reg is a pathway to calm, resilience, motivation, learning, & well-being.

Early Years

Parents

Schools

The Shanker Method

5 Domain Framework

Free Self-Reg 101 Webinar

Our Mission & Values

About Stuart Shanker

Self-Reg Sunrise Learning Journey symbol of a sunrise over a leaf

Explore how learning Shanker Self-Reg can help your approach to behaviour, dysregulation, emotions and any of the challenges that brought you to Self-Reg as a someone who cares.

Level 1 Certificate Programs

*NEW* Education Assistants

Early Childhood Development

Self-Reg Foundations

School Leadership

ASK Courses

Reframing Bullying

Enhancing Resilience

Self-Reg Parenting

Learning for Teams

On-Demand Webinars

Upcoming Events

Summer Symposium

Book a Presenter

Self-Reg Quilt Learning Journey Symbol of a leaf in a patch of a quilt

Self-Reg can be practical, community based and woven with other initiatives, movements or priorities. How can you bring Self-Reg to your community or context?

What is Applied Self-Reg Knowledge?

Blogs & Vlogs

Podcasts

Webinars & Upcoming Events

School Leadership Certificate

Learning Facilitator's Certificate

Living, Learning & Linking Certificate

Self-Reg Schools Handbook

REFRAMED Book

Mentoring & Consulting

Self-Reg Haven Learning Journey Symbol of two hands holding and nurturing a leaf up

Havens are our dream for all! A Self-Reg Haven is a place where everyone feels safe in every way: physically, emotionally, socially, and culturally.

I Know a Haven When I Find One

5 Self-Reg Haven Look Fors

Havens 101: Group Learning

RADAR Project Planning Tool

Self-Reg Schools Handbook

Enhancing Resilience in Children and Youth Certificate Program Image of a person's silhouette in front of an orange sunset

Enhancing Resilience In Children & Youth

Certificate Program Starts June 20th

Facilitated Certificates

Self-Directed Courses

On-Demand Webinars

Events - Live & Online

Tools & Strategies

Speakers & Presentations

Books & Publications

Blogs & Vlogs

Podcasts

Graphics with Blogs

Glossary

Français

Translated Resources

Media Releases

Meet Our Team

Newsletter

Contact Us

FAQs