Our Team

Meet the incredible TMC team who make everything we do possible!



Stuart Shanker

Founder & Visionary

Dr. Stuart Shanker (D.Phil) is a Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and Psychology and the Founder & Visionary of The MEHRIT Centre, Ltd.. His latest books “Reframed: Self-Reg for a Just Society” (University of Toronto Press 2020) and “Self-Reg Schools: A Handbook for Educators” (Pearson 2019) co-authored with Susan Hopkins is a follow-up to “Calm, Alert and Learning: Classroom Strategies for Self-Regulation” (Pearson 2012). His book, “Self-Reg: How to Help Your Child (and You) Break the Stress Cycle and Successfully Engage With Life” (2016), still garners enthusiastic reviews and media attention throughout North America and has been published in many countries and languages.

In 2012 Dr. Shanker founded The MEHRIT Centre as a Self-Reg learning and information centre. Stuart commits considerable time to bringing the research and science of Self-Reg to parents, early childhood educators, teachers, educational leaders, health practitioners and communities through his writings, presentations, online courses, webinars, social media and a blog entitled, “The Self-Reg View”. Read more about Dr. Shanker here.

Susan Hopkins

Executive Director

A passionate advocate for children, families, schools and communities, Dr. Susan Hopkins is the Executive Director of The MEHRIT Centre. Over Susan’s two decades of experience in education, she has worked in roles in the early years, K-12 and post-secondary across contexts from Italy to the Northwest Territories (NWT) including classroom teacher, program support teacher, vice-principal, district coordinator for inclusion, researcher, curriculum developer, and post-secondary instructor. Susan led the NWT implementation of the Early Development Instrument in kindergarten, co-authored the 10-Year Early Childhood Framework, developed the NWT play and culture-based kindergarten curriculum and led the Planning, Research and Evaluation division for the Department of Education. Under 5+ years of Susan’s leadership, The MEHRIT Centre has evolved into a highly respected, accessible, and successful center for teaching and learning Self-Reg. Susan recently co-authored the Self-Reg Schools Handbook for Educators and developed the online resources for the Principal’s edition with Stuart Shanker (Pearson, 2019). Read more about Dr. Hopkins here.

Pronouns: She/Her

Liz Shepherd

Director, Operations

Colleen Dickinson

Director, H.R. & Legal

Stephen Retallick

eSchool Administrator & I.T. and Systems Manager

Jamie Barker

Client Care Coordinator

Ashley Marcoux

Event Coordinator and Client Care

Aaron Peacock


Adam Kemp

Project Manager R&D and Executive Assistant

Aidan Kennedy


Anne Showalter

Project Manager, Research and Quality Alignment

Aviva Dunsiger

Co-Reg Community Facilitator

Brianne Lisinski

Client Care & Event Assistant

John Hoffman

Communications Officer & Newsletter Editor

Steph Cudmore

Content Marketing Specialist

Tania Moher

Graphic Designer

Vicki Parnell

Self-Reg Parenting Group Administrator


Susan Hopkins

Executive Director & Program Designer

Paula Jurczak

Dean of eLearning 

Stephen Retallick

eSchool Administrator

Taylor Wilson

Learning Navigator and Teaching Assistant

Nancy Niessen

eSchool Mentor, Learning Navigator, Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Caitlin Lutley

eSchool Admin Assistant

Alexis Saltmarsh

Teaching Assistant

Amanda Binns

Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Antony Czachor

Teaching Assistant

Arlene Enriquez

Teaching Assistant

Arlene Robinson

Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Brianne Lisinski

eSchool & Teaching Assistant

Casey Burgess

Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Cathy Lethbridge

Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Claudio Moschella

Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Daisy Pyman

Teaching Assistant

Dawn Eckensviller

Teaching Assistant

Gail Molenaar

Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Jennifer Brown

Teaching Assistant

Karen Braun

Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Kim Smith

Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Laura Cesaroni

Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Lisa Cranston

Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Lisa Pinhorn

Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Marcia Moorcroft

Teaching Assistant & Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Marie Edwards

Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Melissa Pinnell

Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Nicole Patzalek

Teaching Assistant

Rada Mihajlovic

Teaching Assistant

Rebecca Leslie

Teaching Assistant

Stefani Burosch

Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Susan Conklin

Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator

Vicki Storaas

Self-Reg Online Learning Facilitator